Touching the Lord

Hello Fellow Lovers of Jesus,

Today was just a normal day under the Divine dispensing; nothing spectacular happened to blog about specifically, yet I experienced the Lord’s supply. With this being the case, I was just considering what would be a good post to mark such a day, and I came to the conclusion of reviewing the basic, but crucial, matter of touching the Lord.

In our Friday night small group meeting at one of the alumni of the club’s house tonight, we sang so many spiritual songs. One after another we were just calling hymns and exercising our spirit to enjoy the Lord together! One of these hymns, Hymn #811, had a stanza that I found very helpful:

#6: Now to enjoy Thee I come to Thy Word,
On Thee to feed till my hunger is o’er.
Now in my spirit I turn unto Thee,
Of Thee to drink till I’m thirsty no more.

From this, I realized that a simple way to touch the Lord is very much related to our coming to the Word. I had mentioned this in one of my previous post, yet even today this truth was all the more fresh to me! The words which the Lord has spoken are spirit and are life (John 6:63) and we know that the Lord is the resurrection and the life (John 11:25). Putting these two verses together, there is no doubt that our prayerfully coming to the Word is an important way to contact the Lord. If we want to experience Christ in a subjective way, there is a practical application: musing on and praying the Word of God! This is a good way to not only set our mind on the spirit in order to experience life and peace (Romans 8:6) but also to fill our spiritual hunger. Thus day by day, I am learning how to abide in His word by letting His words abide in me (John 15:7) through reading verses from the Bible each morning. How wonderful and satisfying!

In any case, I really enjoy our Friday night small group meetings in general because it’s just a good way to wind-down from the week and enjoy the Lord with other believers. Not to mention the delicious deserts such as the peach cobbler and vanilla ice cream that I did not get to partake of because I had to leave so soon tonight. Oh well! There’s always next week! 😀

Grace be with you from Christians on Campus at UC Berkeley!

About A Crazy Lover of Jesus

I am a lover of Christ Jesus my Lord, and I desire to speak one with Him in every matter that is pleasing in His sight. May He gain the first place in my being in all matters and things for the sake of His corporate expression, the Body of Christ!

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Daily Enjoyments, Small Group Meeting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

