A Morning Time with the Lord

Hello Fellow Crazy Lovers of Jesus,

This morning was an awesome time with the Lord!! It started off with some reading of the Word in 2 Samuel chapter 7 when David speaks about his desire to build a house for Jehovah. From the whole chapter, three verses stuck out to me:

v. 12-14: “…I will raise up your seed after you, which will come forth from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. It is he who will build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. I will be his Father, and he will be My son…”

As I was prayerfully reading through some of the study notes in my Bible, I came to look at something that I had glossed over the first time. In v. 12 the Lord says that a seed will come out of David’s body, but in v. 14 Jehovah declares that He would be a Father to this seed. This “seed” then must be a reference to the coming Christ who in His humanity was the seed of David according to the flesh, but in resurrection became the Son of God according to His humanity, like in Romans 1: 3-4. This in itself is marvelous, that a man in the flesh (who was already God according to His divinity) could become the Son of God through death and resurrection! Now He has two statuses: He’s the Son of God according to His divinity as well as the Son of God according to His humanity!

However, this is only the beginning of the good news for Romans 8:29 speaks about predestinating the believers to be conformed to the image of God’s son, Jesus Christ, that He might be the Firstborn among many brothers! This means that our destiny is to be brought into the divine sonship in the very same way that our “elder brother” was in His humanity: our very flesh will also be designated to make us genuine sons of God!

There’s a lot more here obviously, but my point is on the matter of having the time to spend with the Lord in the Word so that He can have the opportunity to impress us with the hidden gems that are located there. Our morning times should be morning “feastings” which prepare us to spend the whole day with Him! Praise the Lord for the riches concerning Himself in the Word!

                                (Until the next post, keep eating the Lord in His Word)

 

Grace be with you from Christians on Campus at UC Berkeley 😀

About A Crazy Lover of Jesus

I am a lover of Christ Jesus my Lord, and I desire to speak one with Him in every matter that is pleasing in His sight. May He gain the first place in my being in all matters and things for the sake of His corporate expression, the Body of Christ!

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Bible Study Recaps, Daily Enjoyments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

